New Year, New Beginnings

For almost exactly six years, I was a member of Emmanuel Covenant Church in Glendale, Arizona. I became a member on my husband’s birthday, December 31, 2006. The church completed its final worship service on the 30th of December, 2012. We missed that service, as we were on a family vacation in the mountains, but we did mark our final service with a photo taken in the same place where I became a member, where we were married in 2007, and where our children were baptized in 2008 and 2010. Being somewhat sentimental, I even wore the same dress that I had worn to our wedding rehearsal years ago. (I stopped short at replicating the outfit entirely, but even that took restraint.)

Final Sunday at Emmanuel

As you can see, we even smile Russian style.

As an army brat, I have never lived in one place long enough to worship there for six years. Emmanuel was my church home far longer than any other church has been, and it is sad to leave. Our new church home will be King of Kings PCA, and in many ways it represents a great continuity. In fact, our former church has merged with King of Kings, and many of the same voices will sing praises with us each Sunday. Still, I can’t help but think of the families who have chosen another church home, and how we will miss them.

Leave a Reply

