I Have Bought a Scale

This is a little strange for me. I haven’t had a scale in years, and even when I had one (at my old apartment in Baltimore) I rarely used it. But you see, I am going on a diet, and so I need a scale. Seems logical, right? Well, this is a different kind of diet – its goal is not weight loss, but healing gut dysbiosis. I will be eating very specific foods in order to allow my innards to heal enough so that I can properly digest the foods that I eat. Which is, you see, not happening now. Not in the slightest.

And the scale? Well I bought that to make sure that I don’t lose too much weight. Seriously. The beginnings of the Specific Carbohydrate Diet/ GAPS are pretty restrictive – and it will take months until I have reintroduced even the non-grain foods. Friends and family have already expressed concerns about whether I will be able to eat enough calories. Firstly, for nursing: I am still nursing our son, though he has also started to drink milk. Another important consideration is pregnancy. We do not believe that conventional methods of family planning like an oral contraceptive pill are acceptable to a Christian household – let alone the health risks affiliated with them. We are still deciding what we will do, especially once my son is weaned, but we are going to try not to get pregnant for at least six months. Of course, the “risk” affiliated with leaving God in charge of your fertility is that his timelines might not be the same as yours, but then we also trust that God knows what is best for us and for any future children he will bless us with. I have already gone through a GF/CF pregnancy, so I know about supplementing/substituting. I believe that as long as we are a few months into the SCD/GAPS protocol, it would be perfectly alright to conceive.

Interestingly, the last time I really cared about my weight was during my last pregnancy. I was not gaining what I should despite eating gargantuan amounts of healthy foods (the Bradley Diet, modified to be GF/CF), and in the end we did have a bity of a teeny baby (just over five and a half pounds at full term). The same digestive disorders that plague me now were present during that pregnancy, so I believe that my son and I were not fully benefitting from all the foods that I was eating due to gut damage. Hopefully, any future pregnancies will not be affected by this.

Until then, though, I will keep a log of the foods I eat, and my weight – though I don’t think I’ll be posting that! Suffice it to say that I am at present five or so pounds heavier than when we were married and two or so pounds lighter than when I went to my first doctor’s visit after learning that I was pregnant with my son.  I calculate my BMI to be a 21.5, and would not like to make sure I don’t get lower than a 20 during this nutritional program (aka “diet,” though I dislike the connotation of the word).

Leave a Reply

